American wants to fix this old PE 2038

• Hello, I am embarrassed to have to use English but I cannot do this in German. I am the proud owner of a PE 2038 I bought in 1970 a few months before I got married. I didn't use it from about 1980 to 2002, and it developed some "age issues" in that time. One problem is the tone arm does not move across the record when it should be on auto. In manual, the lift lever won't remain up (flops). At the end of the record, the tonearm won't pick up and return to rest. Lastly, in about 2005, the unit refused to turn off after placing the tone arm on the rest. I am hoping that Kai Platten or others, like Bepone, are listening, as I have read some of their suggestions on Dual-Board and they seem to know what they are talking about.

First, let me tell you I am not an engineer. I am just a do-it-yourself guy who likes to solve a hard puzzle, and this turntable fits that nicely. About 2 weeks ago after reading threads on Dual-Board and AudioKarma I decided to pull apart the turntable, using instruction and part #s in the 2020 Service manual, the ELPA Marketing instructions and Kai Platten's document from 2021. I was careful and slow and made good progress. The copper sheet part of #150 is lacking the clutch pad/friction bushing pimpel, so I was about to replace that with a chunk of tire rubber (like K. Platten suggested). I need to know the thickness of that chunk. But before I make any clutch pads, I have a few questions.

1. Is it true I need to fully remove the part #150, feed lever in order to glue the rubber chunk/clutch pad to the copper plate. I can't remove both C clips on the part 150 without tearing everything out of the underside of the chassis. And I thought maybe I could glue on the rubber chunk without doing that.